Yayi wins Lagos West Senate seat

By our correspondent

Hon Solomon Olamilekan Adeola (aka Yayi) celebrating result of Saturday's election

Hon Solomon Olamilekan Adeola (aka Yayi) celebrating result of Saturday’s election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced Hon Solomon Olamilekan Adeola (aka Yayi) of the APC as winner of last Saturday’s Senatorial election for the Lagos West Senatorial District.

Adeola, by this announcement, has made history by becoming the first legislator in Nigeria to be consecutively elected from the Lagos state legislature to the Lower House of the National Assembly and finally to the Senate.

Accrding to the results,  Adeola of the All Peoples’ Congress (APC), polled 429,765 votes to his beat his closest rival, Mr Segun Adewale of PDP, who got 372,421 in the largest senatorial district in Nigeria.

He won in six of the ten Local Government Areas of the district namely Alimosho, Agege, Ifako Ijaiye, Mushin, Badagry and Ikeja to beat his rival with 57,344 votes.

Adeola, who is the Chairman of the House of Representatives Committee on Public Accounts, lost in Ojo, Amuwo Odofin, Oshodi /Isolo and Ajeromi /Ifelodun LGAs.

Meanwhile, Chief Kayode Odunaro, the Chief Media Consultant to Adeola, said in a statement in Lagos that there has been wild jubilations among the federal lawmaker’s supporters that kept vigil in his office since Saturday evening.

He stated that Adeola dedicated his victory to God and all the good people of his Alimosho Federal Constituency that he presently represent in House of Representatives.

He also extend the dedication to the entire people of Lagos West District, promising that he would  vigorously pursue his legislative agenda as promised during the campaign for the seat.

Also read  Saraki’ vs CCT: Skillful Dribbler – Feeble Defenders

Adeola, a chartered accountant, was consecutively elected to the Lagos State House of Assembly in 2003 and in 2007 to represent Alimosho State Constituency II.

In 2011, he was elected and is presently representing Alimosho Federal Constituency, the largest constituency in Nigeria in the House of Representatives.

(Visited 522 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>