South-West PDP leaders meet in Ibadan, resolve to reposition party

By Our Correspondent

Former Governors Ayo Fayose of Ekiti State, Segun Mimiko of Ondo State, former Sen. Iyiola Omisore and former Minister of State for Defence, Musiliu Obanikoro at the PDP South-West Leaders Meeting in Ibadan on Friday, June 19, 2020

Leaders of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the South-West geopolitical zone rose from a one-day meeting in Ibadan, Oyo State capital on Friday with a resolve to reposition the opposition party.

The meeting, hosted by Gov Seyi Makinde of Oyo State, was held at the Government House, Agodi, Ibadan.

It was attended by former governor of Osun and Ekiti states – Prince Olugunsoye Oyinlola and Ayodele Fayose as well as the Deputy National Chairman of the PDP, Elder Yemi Akinwonmi, who presided over the meeting.

Others in attendance also included the another former Ekiti State, Mr Segun Oni, former Deputy National Chairman of the PDP, Chief Olabode George, National Assembly members among many others.

The leaders at the meeting agreed to work in oneness so as to ensure the party was a strong, indissoluble structure.

They charged all the party stakeholders to embrace the principles of equity and fairness in the distribution of positions due to the zone henceforth.

In a communique issued at the end of the meeting, the party leaders stated that they discussed various issues bordering on unity, oneness and togetherness in the South-West PDP and how to reposition the party.

“The Leaders of the PDP South-West, from the six states of Lagos, Ogun, Ekiti, Ondo, Oyo and Osun met today, June 19, discussed extensively on various issues bordering on the unity, oneness and togetherness of the South-West PDP and resolved as follows:

“That the PDP South-West should remain an indivisible, united and strong entity under the PDP’s umbrella.

Also read  Delay of International Observers: FG playing hanky-panky

“That positions zoned to the South-West should, henceforth, be fairly and equitably shared within the various States/Sub-zones of Lagos/Ogun; Ekiti/Ondo and Oyo/Osun to create a sense of belonging in the respective States/Sub-zones.

“That rotation of the various positions among the states/Sub-zones will create a higher sense of unity, togetherness, fairness and justice among the various States/Sub-zones.

“The above-mentioned resolutions of the meeting are intended to create a sense of belonging, fairness, justice and unity and will be fully implemented as we progress in our programmes in the future to come,” the communique read.

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *