Return schools back to Missionary and Private Owners,Alumni tells govt 

The Alumni Association,1977-1981 set of St. John’s Grammar School, Oke-Atan, Ile-Ife,Osun State, has urged government to consider returning the schools taken over from the missionaries and other private owners back to them for an improvement in the educational sector.

The Alumni made this known to newsmen during an handling over of some renovated blocks of classrooms at the school premises and marked with a Symposium themed “RENAISSANCE OF OUALITY EDUCATION: STAKEHOLDERS PERSPECTIVE”.

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor,Federal University of Technology Akure(FUTA),Prof.Olatunde Arayela who was the Guest Speaker and also an alumnus of the school frowned at the level of indiscipline among the students  of nowadays lamenting that discipline which used to be the core values of learning in their time has been regrettably eroded as students now hardly adhere to their teacher’s instructions to guide them in life.

Professor Arayela expressed delighted on the quality of personalities earlier produced by the school especially the 1977/1981 set. He attributed the success of these products to the painstaking qualitative education given to them by the Catholic missionary school under the leadership and supervision of Reverend Father Fabian Cloutier who instilled discipline of morality, values and diligence in the then students who have today become distinguished at the zenith of their various endeavors.

“What we are today is as a result of what we learned here under Rev. Fr. Fabian Cloutier of blessed memory who inculcated morals, values and diligence in us.”

“I’m proud today because our set of 1977-1981 have produced distinguished people who have reach the zenith of their professions and are still moving upwards.” Professor Arayela said.

Also read  Groups ask UN to investigate Israeli killings in Aqsa Mosque 

Canvassing for return of the missionary schools to their original owners,  Chairman1976-1981 set, of St. John’s Grammar School in Ile-Ife, Siyanbola Oladapo, the association Secretary, Segun Omoworare and the Special Adviser on Communication to Governor of Lagos State,Hon. Kehinde Bamigbetan,while speaking acknowledged the enormity of the responsibility of  government saying the schools if returned will enjoy better management and proper monitoring from the owners while the government can face other sectors that need utmost and adequate attention of government.

“What we are doing here is to give back to the society. We are doing this to challenge other alumni to have it at the back of their mind that it is good to give back to their Alma-mata.”

“What we met here was total abysmal as a boys school has turned to a mixed school. The school field which has produced several International athletes and footballer like Emmanuel Okorie has turned to a social party stage.”

We appreciate the efforts of government to make education affordable and accessible but it is high time they allow missionaries to take over the school.”

“Though, government should be formulating policy that would make them to operate effectively.” The Alumni added.

St. John’s Grammar School, Ile-Ife was founded in 1962 as a boys school by a Catholic Church priest, Reverend Father Fabian Cloutier has produced Several successful men and national figures in the Nigerian society like Publisher of Ovation Magazine, Chief Dele Momodu, MD/CEO of Vanguard Newspapers and former President Nigerian Guild of Editors, Gbenga Adefaye, a renowned journalist, Dele Agekameh, Senator Iyiola Omisore, Former National Secretary of PDP, Professor Wale Oladipo, two term Chairman of Ejigbo LCDA in Lagos and currently a Special Adviser to the Lagos State Governor, Hon. Kehinde Bamigbetan, an EX Super Eagles footballer, Emmanuel Okorie and a host of others.

Also read  Rifi, Lebanese Justice Minister resigns

By Saheed Adeyemi,Osogbo.

(Visited 110 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>