Presidency reviews Jonathan’s last minute appointments


President Muhammadu Buhari has ordered a compilation of all the appointments made by former President Goodluck Jonathan between April 1 and May 28, 2015.


That is the period Jonathan spent in office after losing the March 28 presidential election to Buhari.

The inspector general of police (IGP) Solomon Arase, the chairman of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), Peter Obi, the chairman of the National Hajj Commission (NAHCON), Abdullahi Mukhtar Mohammed,
and many others may lose their positions as a result of this.

According to Babachir David Lawal, the secretary to the government of the federation (SGF), some of the appointments within that period were not based on merit and did not follow the various laws.

“It is in view of the foregoing that, Mr. President directed that all appointments made into executive and non-executive positions between the period 1st April, 2015 to 28th May, 2015 should be reviewed.

“Those appointments including renewal of tenure in all federal government parastatals, agencies and commissions,” a service wide circular dated Sept. 18 read in part.

They were further directed to ensure that the list gets to the office of the SGF not later than Sept. 30.

It would be recalled that Jonathan made several appointments after he lost the presidential election.

He appointed Arase on April 21, following the removal of Suleiman Abba from the office.

Mr Peter Obi was appointed on April 27 as the chairman of the Security and Exchange Commission (SEC) while Mr Abdullahi Muhammad was appointed as Chairman of the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria (NAHCON)  on May 5 among five other appointments.

Also read  AfDB, AIMS to groom 100 mathematicians in 54 countries

After Senate confirmation, the appointees were inaugurated on May 22.

Others who were appointed within that period are; Asabe Asmau Ahmed as Executive Secretary of the Petroleum Equalisation Fund, Bassey Okon Akpanyung as the Secretary to the National Planning Commission and Denzil Amagbe Kentebe was appointed as executive secretary of the Nigerian Content Management Development Board.

Alhaji Haruna Sambo and Babatunde Igun were also appointed as Executive Directors for the Bank of  Agriculture.

The appointments were approved on May 28, but the letters were dated May 27.

(Visited 101 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>