Presidency names Mahmood Yakubu as INEC chairman

Prof. Mahmood Yakubu newly appointed Chairman of INEC

Prof. Mahmood Yakubu newly appointed Chairman of INEC

The Presidency in Abuja on Wednesday announced the appointment of Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, the immediate past Executive Secretary of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) as the new Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, (INEC).


The announcement followed the ratification of the recommendation of President Mohammadu Buhari by the National Council of States (NCS) at its first meeting in Abuja.

Gov Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State, who briefed State House correspondents after the meeting, said the action of the President followed the massive retirements of many of the National Commissioners in place during the last dispensation.

Tambuwal, in company of his Abia counterpart, Dr. Ifeanyi Ikpeazu, also said that the Council also approved the recommendation to name the Acting Chairman of the Commission, Amina Bala Zakari, a former Acting Chairman of the Commission, Prince Solomon Adedeji Soyebi, Dr Muhammad Mustapha Lekki and Dr Taiye Okoosi-Simbile as National Commissioners in INEC.

Yakubu, a professor of History, served as the Assistant Secretary in charge of Finance and Administration in the just concluded National Conference.

If their appointment is ratified by the Senate, Mrs Zakari from Jigawa and Soyebi from Ogun, would be serving their second term as National Commissioner of INEC.

Zakari’s term just ended while that of Soyebi, who handed over to the immediate past Chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega is coming back the second time

(Visited 163 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>