Oyetola inaugurates committee on minimum wage


Gov. Gboyega Oyetola of Osun State has inaugurated a committee to work out the modalities for the implementation of the minimum wage for civil servants in the state.

Oyetola, who did the inauguration in Osogbo, urged the committee members to ensure they arrive at a reasonable amount of increment that is sustainable
He said that his administration would work through the committee to arrive at a solution that would be pleasing to both workers and the government.
He commended the labour leaders and the entire workforce for their cooperation and sense of understanding.
“I thank the leadership of labour for their level of cooperation in the last one year.
“The welfare of workers is very important to me and that’s why we pay their salaries promptly and in full.
“Thank God we’ve spent one year without rancour or strike.
“We’ll work together to have a safe landing that will be acceptable to the two parties.
“I’m delighted to see this committee inaugurated,” the governor said.
Oyetola said that while his administration is committed to paying the new minimum wage, it also needs to collectively drive the IGR upward as the only source for payment of the minimum wage.
In his remarks, the Chairman, Joint Negotiation Council (JNC), Mr Bayo Adejumo pledged the cooperation of the labour leaders with the government to avoid a “war-war type” of negotiation.
He lauded Oyetola for his faithfulness to all negotiations from his days as Chinegotiations, saying the current administration had implemented most of the agreements reached with the labour by the previous governments.
“Our amiable governor is not new to labour and he is not new to negotiation.
“He has been handling labour matters in the last nine years and today, we are happy that we have no regret supporting your emergence as the state governor
“Most of the agreements we entered during the time are being implemented now by your administration.
“While commending you for prompt payment of salaries in full, we assure you that this negotiation will not be a war-war type.
“We will apply scientific negotiation in a very conducive manner and we have absolute confidence in your leadership,” Adejumo said.
The committee, chaired by the Chief of Staff to the governor, Dr Charles Akinola, includes the Head of Service, Dr Festus Oyebade; Commissioner for Finance, Mr Bola Oyebamiji; Commissioner for Budget and Economic Planning, Prof. Olalekan Yinusa; Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr Oluwafemi Akande; Commissioner for Human Resources and Capacity Building, Mrs Giwa Lateefah Abiodun; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Mrs Bimpe Ogunlumade; and the State Accountant General, Mr Sunday Igbaroola.
The labour leaders in the committee are the Chairman, Joint  Negotiation Council (JNC), Bayo Adejumo; Secretary JNC, Richard Oyegbemi; Chairman, Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Sunday Adekomi;  Secretary, NLC, Rufus Adeyemi; Chairman, Trade Union Congress (TUC), Adebowale Adekola; Secretary (TUC), Akin Olatunbosun; Chairman ASCSN, Dauda Adeyemi; his Secretary, Jide Akinlami.
Others are Lasun Akindele, Chairman, Council II; Bimbo Arapasopo, Secretary, Council II; Gbenga Oyebode, Chairman, Council III; Adeniyi S.M. Secretary, Council III; Amuda Wakeel Alade, Chairman, Nigeria Union of Teachers, (NUT); Adedeji Adeyeye, Chairman, Nigeria Union of Local Government Employee (NULGE); John Ugoro, NULGE Secretary; and Salam Kayode, Secretary, NUT.
By Adeyinka Aremu, Osogbo
(Visited 26 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>