Osun rerun: Omisore, coalition pledges allegiance with APC


The governorship candidate of Social Democratic Party (SDP), Sen. Iyiola Omisore has formed an alliance with the All Progressives Congress (APC) ahead of the rerun poll of Osun State on Thursday.

The coalition is to guarantee victory for the APC against the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the re-run elections in seven local government areas, where votes were cancelled.

The proclamation was made at a press conference which was attended by the National Chairman of the SDP, Professor Yemi Farounbi and other SDP chieftains in Ile-Ife.

Omisore hinged his decision on APC’s acceptance of his party manifestoes, including payment of backlog of arrears to civil servants and senior citizens within the first three months of assumption of office by the All Progressives Congress.

He said, “SDP was left with no option than to pitch the tent with the APC after the People’s Democratic party failed to respond to his party’s terms and  conditions for a coalition government.”

Voice of Nigeria reports that the SDP came third in the election which was declared inconclusive by the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC) due to the close margin between the two leading parties.

Citing the electoral law, INEC maintained that the election could not produce a winner since the margin between the leading candidates was less than the total number of registered voters in the affected polling units where votes were cancelled.

The votes were cancelled due to alleged irregularities in the seven local government areas, inclusive of Ife North and East inclusive.

Coalition declares support for APC

Also read  Gowon retrospects on his tenure as Head of State

In a related development, the Alliance of Collaborating Political Parties has also declared support for the APC candidate, Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola ahead of the rerun election.

Addressing a press conference in Osogbo on Wednesday, the leader of the political group,  Prince Adesoji Masilo said the coalition threw its weight behind the candidature of Oyetola because of his superior intelligence and strength of character when compared with his rival.

Masilo who is also the governorship aspirant of the African Peoples Alliance said over twenty political parties decided to support APC owing to the party’s progressive spirit.

He said the APC candidate had been adjudged to be capable of developing the state and thus implored members of the coalition to troop out en masse to cast their votes for APC on Thursday.

Masilo, however, condemned the rate of vote buying allegedly done by the Peoples Democratic Party and called the police as well as INEC to probe into the criminal act.

He warned politicians to desist from such activities that are capable of casting aspersion on the process and prevent the state from getting a credible candidate

He thus urged voters to refrain from selling their votes and ensure that they vote Oyetola.

Adeoti denies

Meanwhile, the governorship candidate of the Action Democratic Party (ADP) in the election, Alhaji Moshood Adeoti said he has not defected back to his former party, the APC.

He made the clarification in a release by his media aide, Mr Kayode Agbaje in Osogbo.

Agbaje said while Adeoti actually attended a peace meeting that was initiated by the Governor-elect of Ekiti State, Dr Kayode Fayemi in Osogbo, it was not anyway connected to his possible return to the APC.

Also read  APC closes ranks in Lagos

“A peace meeting was called on the initiative of Dr Kayode Fayemi and as a politician committed to peace in Osun State, and I attended.

“At the said meeting no one discussed the issue of my possible return to the APC,” he said.

Adeoti asked his supporters to disregard any rumour of his possible defection, saying the ADP remained one, and currently organising itself to field candidates for all elections in the 2019 general election.

From Adeyinka Aremu, Osogbo


(Visited 36 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>