Osun Poll: APC wins 389 seats, as councillors get certificates of return


The ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) has won all the 389 wards in Osun State in the Local Government election held across the state on Saturday.

The councillors elected in the new parliamentary system have thus been given their certificates of return on Sunday, following the declaration by the electoral umpire.

The Chairman of the Osun Independent Electoral Commission, (OSIEC) Segun Oladitan while congratulating the winners on Sunday remarked that the election was unique because it was the first parliamentary election at the local government level in the country.

He said 52 of the candidates that emerged through election were elected from Osun East Senatorial district, 13 from the West, and the remaining six from the Central Senatorial district.

Voice of Nigeria reports that 318 of the 389 councillors were returned unopposed while the election took place in 71 wards, since the main opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party boycotted the election because of the introduction of the parliamentary system by the state government.

Oladitan said the election was free and fair and that the winners emerged under transparent process.

The government, after the endorsement by the state House of Assembly introduced a parliamentary system of governance at the local government level, where only councillors are elected, and the Chairmen emerges amongst the councillors representing different wards within a local government.

The Chairman, after the announcement, thereafter issued certificate of return to the 389 councillors.

By Adeyinka Aremu, Osogbo

(Visited 50 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>