NUJ elects Isiguzo as new National President

Mr Chris Isiguzo, the South East Bureau Chief of ThisDay Newspaper from Enugu Zone, on Friday, emerged the new National President of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) at the unions general election held in Abeokuta, Ogun State.

Mr Chris Isiguzo, the President of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ)

Mr Chris Isiguzo, the President of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ)

Mr Isiguzo polled 346 votes to defeat the incumbent president, Waheed Odusile, who polled 329 votes.

Announcing the results at the June 12 Cultural Centre in Abeokuta, Mr Benson Upah, the Returning Officer from Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), commended the peaceful conduct of all the participants.

Mr Upah, the National Head of Information and Public Affairs, declared Mr Isiguzo winner of the election that had seven contestants.

Bamidele Atunbi had 101 votes, Abiodun Olalere, 56 votes, Jacob Edi, 16 votes, while Alademika Adelegan had 9 votes and Uzaka Abraham got 30 votes.

For the National Treasurer position, Mohammed She defeated two other contestants while Muhamod Umar was elected National Auditor.

For the Vice President position, Yusuf Idris was elected for Zone A, Cosmos Olalekan for Zone B, Petrus Samfochi won the election for Zone C and Wilson Bako was elected VP Zone D.

Ogunle Akpati was elected VP Zone F, Izma Abdullahi was elected Secretary Zone A, while Suleiman Gimba won the Secretary seat for Zone E.

In his acceptance speech, Mr Isiguzo said the major focus of his administration would be the welfare of Nigerian journalists.

“I assure that time to rescue the union has started; you will be proud of us. We won’t disappoint you.

Also read  Buhari, Before It Is Too Late!

“We will unveil our programme of actions in the coming days. The days you work and you will not receive your salary are gone.

“The immediate past president has congratulated me with other co-contestants. I want to dedicate this victory to all Nigerian journalists,” he said.

(Visited 24 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>