No corrupt official must go unpunished  – Muslim Cleric

Tirmidhi Jamiu

The anti-corruption fight of President Muhammad Buhari-led administration recently got a boost with a call by a renowned Muslim cleric calling on government to ensure no corrupt office holder is allowed to go unpunished.

Ustaz Tirmidhi Jamiu of the Conference of Islamic Organisations made this demand during a Ramadan lecture organised by The Muslim Congress in Osogbo, the Osun state capital with the theme: ” Corruption: The Bane of the Society”.

The Islamic scholar canvassed severe punishments for corrupt officials to serve as a deterrent to others, asking Nigerians to support the anti-corruption stance of the president.

Former Minister of Petroleum, Mrs Deziani Allison-Madueke.

Former Minister of Petroleum, Mrs Deziani Allison-Madueke.

He warned that, according to Prophet Muhammads warning, a nation’s destruction begins whenever the lowly get punished for minor offences and the rich and the influential get away with major crimes.

Ustaz Jamiu frowned at a situation whereby petty thieves are imprisoned for 10 years and above, while those who stole Nigeria to stupor get lesser sentence, like between two and three years.

He identified corruption, policy summersaults and unhealthy politicking to be responsible for the nation’s retrogression and urged Nigerians to start the fight against corruption from their respective homes.

The cleric also advised Muslims to shoulder the responsibility of ensuring that corruption is eradicated in the society.

He encouraged Nigerians to remain steadfast in the face of daunting challenges and sacrifices they have to make to rebrand Nigeria. The name he said, has been tainted within the comity of nations by corrupt individuals.

By: Adeyinka Aremu, Osogbo.

Also read  EU's top court urged to dismiss refugee relocation case
(Visited 100 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>