Lawan emerges President of Nigeria’s 9th Senate

Former Senate Leader, Ahmed Lawan, has been elected President of the ninth Senate.

New Senate President, Sen. Ahmed Lawanson

New Senate President, Sen. Ahmed Lawanson

Lawan was elected on Tuesday on the floor of the senate during the inauguration of ninth National Assembly through the open ballot.

He polled 79 votes  votes to defeat his closest rival for the position, Sen. Ali Ndume representing Borno South Senatorial District, who polled 28 votes.

Lawan represents Yobe North Senatorial District of Yobe state on the platform of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

107 out of the 109 senators participated in the election.

Sen. Yahaya Abdullahi representing Kebbi North nominated Lawan for the position of the senate presidency.

He was seconded by Sen. Adeola Olamilekan from Lagos state.

Lawan before the election congratulated his colleagues for being returned to the senate and urged all of them to provide sustainable good governance.

He further urged them to work together to create a sustainable environment for all.

“Our political differences will not hinder us from providing the needed development to Nigerians, if elected,” he said.

This is the second time Lawan contested for the position.

 He contested against and lost to the immediate past Senate President, Bukola Saraki in 2015.

It should be recalled that a few days ago, Chairman of Senate Committee on Appropriations, Sen. Danjuma Goje stepped down for Lawan after reportedly meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari.

Lawan has the backing of APC while PDP threw its backing behind Ndume.

Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan was born in 1959.

Also read  Babangida Aliyu: Crocodile found at Niger probe venue

He received a bachelor’s degree in geography from the University of Maiduguri, a master’s degree in remote sensing from Ahmadu Bello University and a doctorate degree in remote sensing/GIS.from Cranfield University, UK.

He was elected to the Senate in 2007. In 2008, he was a member of the National Assembly’s Joint Committee on Constitution Review.
In 2009, as chairman of the Senate committee on Public Accounts, Lawan initiated and sponsored the Desertification Control Commission Bill.

The Senate has produced 14 senate presidents namely:  Nnamdi Azikiwe, 1960, (NCNC), Dennis Osadebay,1960-1963, (NCNC), Joseph Wayas ,1979–1983, (NPN), Iyorchia Ayu ,1992–1993, (SDP),  Ameh Ebute, 1993, (SDP), Evan Enwerem,1999, (PDP), Chuba Okadigbo ,1999–2000, (PDP), Anyim Pius Anyim, 2000–2003 ,(PDP), Adolphus Wabara, 2003–2005, (PDP), Ken Nnamani, 2005–2007, (PDP),  David Mark, 2007-2015, (PDP)  Bukola Saraki, 2015 – 2019, (APC), Ahmed Lawan, June 2019-Present, (APC).

(Visited 153 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *