Jega delivers lecture on electionprocesses in Unilag

Jega on Election lecture


Prof. Attahiru Jega, the immediate past Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), is scheduled to deliver a lecture on electoral processes in Nigeria on Thursday, Jan. 25 in Lagos.

Prof Attairu Jega

The lecture is part of activities put together by the University of Lagos Muslim Community (UMC), the Muslims in South West Nigeria (MUSWEN) and the University of Lagos Muslim Alumni (UMA) to honour two of members of the Muslim community in the ivory tower.

They are Prof. Rahamon Bello, the former Vice Chancellor and Dr Lateef Odekunle, the former Bursar both of the University of Lagos who recently completed their tenure of service.

According to a statement made available to The Renaissance by Prof. Rasheed Ojikutu, the Chairman, Organising Committee of the programme, the topic of the lecture is “Prospects and Challenges of Involving Volunteers in Nigeria’s Electoral Process”.

It is billed to hold at the Julius Berger Auditorium of the university from 11.00 a.m.

The Renaissance reports that Jega’s lecture will bring into focus the role of volunteers in reducing the cost of the campaign and election finance generally.

The lecture, to be chaired by Alhaji Femi Okunnu (SAN), former Pro-Chancellor and Chairman Governing Council of the University of Agriculture, Makurdi, is coming just a little over a year into another round of national elections in Nigeria.

Prof. Toyin Ogundipe, the Vice Chancellor of the University of Lagos is the Chief Host while Prof. Lai Olurode, a former INEC Commissioner and Chairman of the University of Lagos Muslim Community (UMC) is the Host.

Also read  JAMB pledges to resist universities admission arbitrariness
(Visited 98 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>