INEC declares Bello, Lyon winners of Kogi, Bayelsa governorship poll

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Monday declared the All Progressives Congress (APC), governorship candidate, Yahaya Bello as the winner of the governorship election in Kogi State on Saturday.

Re-elected Gov. Yahya Bello of Kogi State

Re-elected Gov. Yahya Bello of Kogi State

Bello polled a massive 406,222 votes to defeat his contestant, Musa Wada of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 189,704 votes to emerge second.

With the result, Bello has been re-elected for a second term in office.

INEC’s Returning Officer for the election and Vice-Chancellor of Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria, Prof. Ibrahim Umar, said Bello had been declared winner, having scored the highest number of votes during the poll conducted on Saturday.

Earlier on Sunday, INEC in Bayelsa had declared the candidate of the APC, David Lyon, as the winner of the governorship election held on Saturday.

Lyon, who won in six of the state’s eight local government areas, defeated his closest rival, Sen. Douye Diri of the PDP.

Lyon polled 352552 to defeat his closest challenger, Diri of PDP, who polled 143172.

PDP candidates in both states, Musa Wada and Douye Diri have, however, rejected the results, vowing to contest the result at the tribunal.

(Visited 8 times, 1 visits today)
Also read  Hezb-i-Islami former secretary Gulbuddin assassinated in Pakistan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *