Food sustainability media award: Thomas Reuters Foundation announces finalists

Food Sustainability Media Award Finalists Announced Thomson Reuters Foundation and Barilla Center for Food and Nutrition reveal finalists for the award recognising talent in reporting on global food system challenges.

Thomson Reuters Foundation (TRF)

Thomson Reuters Foundation (TRF)

The Thomson Reuters Foundation (TRF) and the Barilla Center for Food and Nutrition (BCFN) Foundation on Tuesday released the finalists selected for the 2017 Food Sustainability Media Award.

Launched in December 2016, the initiative aims to draw public attention to the issue of food sustainability through recognising outstanding coverage of issues relating to food security, sustainability, agriculture and nutrition.

An expert panel of judges selected 18 finalists across the six award categories which include: written journalism, video and photography, both published and unpublished, based on a number of criteria.

The criteria are substance, originality and creativity.

Winners would receive either a cash prize of €10,000 or a Thomson Reuters Foundation journalism training course.

Overall 498 award submissions were received from 72 countries around the world.

The Finalist published work included entries from The Guardian, Huffington Post UK, The New York Times Magazine, National Geographic and Vice Magazine.

“Our food system is facing unprecedented threats. About 1.3 billion tons of food is wasted every year – four times the amount needed to feed the 795 million undernourished people in the world,” says Thomson Reuters Foundation CEO Monique Villa.

“We need to take action now to work towards a sustainable future.

“The first step is bringing these issues to a wider audience.

“We believe these finalists are all worthy of recognition in the unique and exciting way in which they can make this happen.”

Barilla Centre for Food & Nutrition Foundation

Barilla Centre for Food & Nutrition Foundation

Also, Chairman of BCFN, Guido Barilla says: “With this award, we aim to raise awareness and propose solutions to face the challenges the world faces around food and sustainability”.

Also read  Star Kardashian drowns self in an oversize shirt

All finalist entries will also enter the initiative’s Best of the Web Award.

This award will be chosen by the public, who can now vote for the entry that they would like to see recognised for excellence in reporting on food sustainability.

Voting is open on the award website from today, 24th October, until 11:59 PM (GMT) on 30th November.

Winners will be announced at the BCFN Foundation’s 8th International Forum on Food and Nutrition on Dec. 4 in Milan.

Those awarded for their published work will receive a cash prize of €10,000.

Those awarded for their unpublished work will receive an all-expenses-paid trip to attend a Thomson Reuters Foundation media training course on food sustainability.

The winner of the Best of the Web prize will also receive a place on the training course, along with the two runners-up in each of the unpublished categories.

All winning unpublished entries will be distributed via the Thomson Reuters Foundation and the BCFN Foundation websites.

The winning unpublished article will also be distributed through the Reuters newswire, reaching an estimated one billion readers.

By Oluwashina Iyanda

(Visited 67 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *