Election: 82 candidates jostle for governorship seat in Ogun, Lagos

No fewer than 82 politicians, under various registered political parties, are jostling to occupy Oke Mosan and Alausa seats of power in both Ogun and Lagos states.

The Renaissance reports that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Friday, said that 41 candidates from different political parties would be contesting the Governorship election on Saturday in Ogun.

Mrs Adenike Tadese, INEC’s Head of Voters Education and Publicity in Ogun, made this known in Abeokuta.

Tadese also said that 582 candidates would also be jostling for the 26 constituencies that made up the State House of Assembly.

She noted that materials required for the elections were now at the 20 Local Government Areas (LGAs) of the state.

Tadese explained that all the electoral officers would from today (Friday) be at the Registration Area Centres (RAC) across the local governments.

She, however, said that they would move from there by 6 a.m. on Saturday to their different units.

Tadese said that the INEC was ready to conduct a peaceful election on Saturday, saying that there were no logistic problems.

Meanwhile, the same number of candidates are equally eyeing the Alausa seat of power in Lagos State.

The INEC in Lagos State on Friday published details of 41 candidates of various political parties in the state for the 2019 elections jostling to become Governor of Lagos.

A check at INEC office in Lagos revealed that 589 candidates of different parties are also eyeing 40 seats in the Lagos State House of Assembly.

INEC indicated that 41 political parties out of 62 in Lagos state would contest the governorship election while 47 would participate in that of the state house of assembly.

Also read  Federal govt hospital where patients defecate, urinate on beds

Only APC, PDP, SDP, ADC, AD and MPN fielded candidates for all the 40 seats in the state parliament.

Political parties that fielded candidates in at least 20 of the 40 state constituencies for the House of Assembly election are: ADP (34) , ACCORD (28), NCP (23), PPC (21), ANP(20), PPN (20), LP (32) and PT (20)

Mr Femi Akinbiyi, the Lagos INEC Public Relations Officer, said the commission had fulfilled the requirements of Section 31(1 and 3) of the Electoral Act, 2010 (as amended) by publishing names of the candidates.

(Visited 17 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *