Democracy now holds every June 12 as Buhari honours MKO Abiola


President Muhammadu Buhari has directed that effective from 2019, Nigeria’s Democracy Day, marked every May 29 for the past 18 years should now be shifted to the June 12.

At last, Late MKO Abiola honoured

At last, Late MKO Abiola honoured

This is contained in a statement issued by Malam Garba Shehu, the Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity to the President on Wednesday in Abuja.

The President said this directive was to honour “an illustrious son of Nigeria, Chief Moshood Kashimawo Abiola”.

The Renaissance recalls that late MKO Abiola presumably won the presidential election held on June 12, 1993, but he was prevented from taking office when the results were annulled and later died while struggling to actualise the mandate.

Buhari also said that  Abiola would be conferred with nation’s highest honour of the Grand Commander of the Federal Republic (GCFR) exclusively conferred on the holders of the highest office in the country, the President.

Shehu stated that in the same vein, Chief Abiola’s running mate in that election, Amb. Babagana Kingibe would also be conferred with the second highest honour of the Grand Commander of the Niger (GCON).

He added that late Nigeria’s foremost pro-democracy activist, Gani Fawehinmi, would receive the title of a GCON.

President Buhari was quoted as saying: “For the past 18 years, Nigerians have been celebrating May 29 as Democracy Day.

“That was the date when for the second time in our history, an elected civilian administration took over from a military government.

“The first time this happened was on Oct. 1, 1979. But in the view of Nigerians, as shared by this Administration, June 12, 1993, was far more symbolic of Democracy in the Nigerian context than May 29 or even the Oct. 1.

Also read  Nigerians urge PMB to declare Abiola winner of June 12 poll

“June 12, 1993, was the day when Nigerians in millions expressed their democratic will in what was undisputed freest, fairest and most peaceful elections since our Independence.

“The fact that the outcome of that election was not upheld by the then Military Government does not distract from the democratic credentials of that process.

“Accordingly, after due consultations, the Federal Government has decided that henceforth, June 12th will be celebrated as Democracy Day.

“Therefore, the government has decided to award posthumously the highest honour of the land, GCFR, to late Chief MKO Abiola, the presumed winner of June 12, 1993, cancelled elections.

“His running mate as Vice President, Amb. BabaGana Kingibe is also to be invested with a GCON.

Alhaji Babagana Kingibe

Amb. Babagana Kingibe

“Furthermore, the tireless fighter for human rights and the actualisation of the June 12 elections and indeed for Democracy in general, the late Chief Gani Fawehinmi (SAN) is to be awarded the GCON.

“The investiture will take place on Tuesday, June 12, 2018, a date which in future years will replace May 29 as a National Public Holiday in celebration of Nigeria Democracy Day.”

By Our Correspondent

(Visited 156 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>