APC Primaries: 350,000 delegates vote as panel promises credible poll

About 350 members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Osun State on Friday, converged at St Paul Anglican Elementary School, Gbongan to participate in the state governorship primaries to elect a candidate that will fly the flag of the party at the Sept. 22 election.

Faces of the APC governorship aspirants in Osun State

Faces of the APC governorship aspirants in Osun State

The Renaissance reports that delegates drawn from across the 332 Wards converged at St Paul Anglican Elementary School, Gbongan to participate in the primaries.

The five-member Osun governorship election team, led by Alhaji Abdul Aziz Yari, the Governor of Zamfara State assured the aspirants of a free and fair primary election.

Yari said the election shall produce a popular and credible candidate who will fly the flag of the party.

Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege, who represented Yari at a meeting with the seventeen aspirants, allayed the fear of some aspirants that the election has been skewed to favour a particular person.

He said the team will be fair to all aspirants.

“The election will be conducted by direct primary where all members of the party shall vote as approved by the National Working Committee of APC.

“Three electoral officers will supervise the election in each ward while five electoral officers will collate the results in each local government council.

“Whoever will vote must be a registered member of the party and must be physically present at the election venue in his ward. He must also identify himself with either the party membership card or PVC,” the team leader said.

Omo-Agege said the APC membership register had been released to the electoral officers in the presence of the aspirants and their agents on Thursday night, appealing to the aspirants and their supporters to allow the election to go smoothly.

Also read  Breaking: NBC shuts Ekiti TV and Radio as Fayose pre-empts INEC on election result 

The aspirants are Kunle Adegoke (K-RAD), Benedict O. Alabi, Babatunde Adedotun Taiwo, Lasun Yusuff Sulaiman (Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives) Oyetola Isiaq Gboyega (Chief of staff to the governor), Adeyinka Ajayi, Adeoti Moshood, (SSG)  Peter Babalola, Saka Layonu and Oyemomi Ezekiel.

Others are Oriolowo Adelere, Amere Gafar Najeem Salam (Speaker, Osun House of Assembly) Mumini Rafiu A.O. Alamu Bisi, Dayo Oyebamiji and Senator Babajide Omoworare.

The National Publicity Secretary of APC, Mr Bolaji Abdullai said on a Radio programme (Rave FM), that the party wanted to use the direct primary election as an experiment in Osun.

Abdullahi said that if it works, it would be used by the party to pick its candidates for all elections in the country.

 From Adeyinka Aremu, Osogbo
(Visited 394 times, 1 visits today)

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>