Amosun forms new cabinet, drops 13 commissioners

Gov. Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State has constituted a new cabinet, appointing his deputy, Mrs Yetunde Onanuga, as a commissioner and retained four of the 20 commissioners, who served with him during his first term in office.

Onanuga is to oversee the Ministry of Rural Development.

The governor announced this while swearing-in the new commissioners, special advisers and consultants at the June 12 Cultural centre in Abeokuta.

The Ministry of Rural Development was separated from water resources during the first term of Gov. Amosun administration to bring more development to the rural communities in the State.

This follows criticism that the government is focusing its development on the urban centres and neglecting the rural areas, which form part of the seven point cardinal programme of the All Progressive Congress (APC) led government in the state.

Hon Falilu Sabitu was then appointed the Commissioner for Rural Development when the Ministry was renamed.

Only four out of the 20 Commissioners who served during the first term of the Amosun administration, however made the new cabinet.

They are the former Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs Commissioner, Muyiwa Oladipo, who will now oversee the Ministry of Culture and Tourism.

Bimbo Ashiru retained his position as the Commissioner for  Commerce and Industry.

Others who were reappointed as Commissioner include: Arc. Olamilekan Adegbete, who retained his position as Commissioner for Works and Infrastructure, and Ronke Sokefun, who was reappointed to the Ministry of Agriculture.

Those who were former Special Advisers and appointed Commissioner include Adeleke Adewolu, who was in charge of Research and Documentation now Commissioner for Special Duties and Inter Government Affairs.

Also read  Lagos highway sweepers protest non-payment of salaries

Segun Abiodun, who was former Special Adviser on Housing, is now the Commissioner in the Ministry of Housing.

The former Commissioners who were not reappointed include Mrs Abimbola Akeredolu, Barrister Segun Odubela, Dr Olaokun Soyinka, Mr Daniel Adejobi and Mrs Oluwande Muoyo.

Others are Mrs Elizabeth Sonubi, Chief Olu Odeyemi, Mr Adebayo Fari, Chief Samuel Ayedogbon, Hon. Ayo Olubori, Mr Gbenga Otenuga, Mrs Yewande Amusan and Hon. Falilu Sabitu.

However, three of the former Commissioners are now serving at various capacities in the APC led Federal Government.

They include Mrs Kemi Adeosun, who was nominated as a Minister and has been confirmed by the Senate; Dr Lanre Tejuosho, who is now representing Ogun Central in the Senate and Alhaji Yusuph Olaniyonu, who is now the media aide to the Senate President, Bukola Saraki.

From Jamiu Folarin, Abeokuta

(Visited 400 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>