9th Assembly: 10 lawmakers won’t make Lagos Assembly

Ten lawmakers in the Lagos State House of Assembly will not return to the House for the 9th Assembly.

The publication of final list of nominated candidates for the House of Assembly by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Lagos State reveals that some lawmakers’ names were missing.

While some of these lawmakers lost out their aspirations to return to the house, others aspirations to represent their federal constituencies in the House of Representatives were scuttled at primaries.

Some lawmakers, who lost their return tickets to the House at the All Progressives Congress (APC) primaries are: Messrs Akeem Bello (Amuwo Odofin II); and Sola Giwa (Lagos Island)

Others are Oladele Adekanye (Lagos Mainland I) and Dayo Famakinwa (Ajeromi-Ifelodun I).

The four lawmakers are first-term lawmakers in the House.

Bello, the former minority leader of the House and Famakinwa were part of the seven lawmakers that defected in 2017 from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the ruling APC.

Other PDP defectors-Mr Victor Akande (Ojo I); Olusola Sokunle (Oshodi-Isolo I); Jude Idimogu (Oshodi-Isolo II); Fatai Oluwa (Ajeromi-Ifelodun II) and Mrs Mosunmola Sangodara (Surulere II) made the list.

Out of the other six lawmakers, who aspired for the National Assembly, only Mr Bayo Osinowo (Kosofe I) became the candidate of the party for Lagos East Senatorial District.

Others like, Messrs Segun Olulade (Epe II), Lanre Ogunyemi (Ojo II); Adefunmilayo Tejuosho (Mushin I); Saka Fafunmi (Ifako Ijaiye) and Mrs Omotayo Oduntan who aspired to get the ticket to their federal constituencies failed.

Also read  Only mother survive as family of five perish on Lake Superior boat capsize

The other 30 lawmakers, including the lone PDP member in the House, Mr Dipo Olorunrinu (Amuwo Odofin I), got their return tickets, and if emerged winners at the poll, will be back at the House.

Forty-five candidates are contesting the Lagos State governorship seat while 640 candidates will be jostling for the 40 seats in the state house of assembly.

(Visited 49 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *